Catching Up, The Return of Read an Ebook Week, and The Hamptons Comic Book Show 2015

I realize I never said anything after the last surgery and I apologize. I am trying to become better about blogging, but as a blogger, I’m a work in progress.

When I logged in today, I noticed my email address on the “contact” page was wrong. I can’t believe I never noticed that. It’s fixed now, in case anyone would like to get in touch with me.

In a nutshell, surgery in July 2014 was much easier then the initial reconstruction operation in 2013, and healing took so much less time! That was July. I spent the month drinking protein shakes and running to the plastic surgeon for follow ups. August rolled around and I was feeling much better. I got a new job, teaching students in California as an online resource teacher. THAT took a bunch of learning. There are so many things a teacher does in the classroom that you can’t do online. Not only did I have to figure out how to practice classroom management when my classroom is an online platform and the kids are in their houses 3000 miles away, I had to figure out how to use Powerpoint (the presentations aren’t fancy, but at least I can fill in a slide now) and find materials I could use to support my students in their progress toward their individual goals. I think I’m beginning to get the hang of it. In November, I got my first tattoos. Granted, they’re nipple tattoos, so they aren’t on display, but I got them done, and all that’s left is to follow up with the PS once more to see how things are settling in. Before I move on to writing, I have to say, I am glad I chose autologous (sp?) reconstruction. It was a hard road, but the results have been worth it. (Of course, in July 2013, I was singing a completely different tune.)

Before the chemo brain catches up with me, March 1 – March 7 is Read an E-Book Week over at Smashwords. This is an annual thing, always in March, but it completely snuck up on me. Basically, this is a site-wide sale and authors can choose to participate or not and they choose what discount they offer their books at. So, for a limited time, Riptide and Ghost Whispers are both 50% off (that’s right, $1.50 for each novel-length story; if someone buys both, at $3.00, it’s still less than the price of an espresso drink!) The short stories Lost and Found and Uninvited are FREE for the week. Find my books on Smashwords at https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/michellemoklebust.

And I’ve got some news about the Chosen series…

The third short story in the Chosen series, With a Flick of the Wrist, was published in 2014 as part of the charity anthology, The Many Tortures of Anthony Cardno. Right now that is the only place to find story #3. The anthology is full of great stories, including one by the late Jay Lake. All proceeds from this volume go to the American Cancer Society. It’s a great collection and a really worthy cause. You can find it on Amazon in print and digital format.

Chosen news:

About 10 years ago, I wrote what I consider my first novel, which languished in a drawer but is now tentatively titled Accident of Birth. This is the first story about Janna,  a genetically engineered vampire-human hybrid vampire slayer, created as part of a government project to build an army to combat the rising tide of vampires and other creatures that were slipping through active Hellgates around the country. (There were no zombies in that story). A while back, when I began experiencing writer’s block with Riptide’s sequel, I dusted off the old manuscript and finished the edits I had begun making during my lunch breaks last Spring. Well, I’m pleased to say the edits are nearly done (at least the first round) and I am thinking about beta readers. The book is about 73,000 words (not the final count, but I don’t think that’s a far off estimate). I think the story fits the Chosen universe, even though there are currently no cross over characters. (I suspect some characters from Accident might put in an appearance in one of the short stories I’m planning to write.) I’m not entirely sure about publishing this one, but if I decide to I’d like to have it done in time for the Hamptons Comic Book Show in May. It’s nowhere near ready, but that’s what I’m thinking.

Descendants of Amphitrite news!

The first draft of Riptide’s sequel is about halfway done. Right now, there are some overhauls I may be making, a subplot I’ve been contemplating, which would require new scenes and chapters. It’s slow going like Riptide was, being written when I can grab an hour here or there, so I haven’t thought about a release date yet, but as soon as I know, you will too. I think I have a cover for it, but I have to purchase a couple of images before I can share.

I’ve heard of other writers’ brains being flooded with new ideas when they are working on a project. That has been the case for me. There are so many stories I’d like to share with you. My writerly plans are a bit jumbled, but I’m writing ideas and characters down as they present themselves, a necessary evil, especially with the chemo brain conspiring against me. I can remember things from way back, but ask me what I did a few hours ago, and I’ll have to get back to you. Ah well, it is what it is. Just know there are more stories to come!

Lastly, the Hamptons Comic Book Show. This year this event is scheduled for May 23. I am planning to attend, with books in hand (hopefully including Accident). It’s going to be a good time. Get the latest information on their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/hamptonscomicbookshow?pnref=story or their website: http://www.hamptonscomicbookshow.com/

Thank you all for your support, patience and understanding. I’ll try not to stay away so long again!

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Book news, Breast Cancer, Chosen series, LIfe after Cancer, Read an Ebook Week, Writing life

Leave a comment