Anther July and other random thoughts

It’s July 2014, and I find myself in a similar position as last July. I’m once again healing from reconstruction surgery, this time part 2, where things were evened-out, lifted, moved over a tad, and fat either sucked out or added. It’s nowhere near as painful as last year’s surgery, I’m already feeling like I could go out and about. I have to wear a binder, which is uncomfortable but tolerable, although sleeping on my back is still something I’m trying to get used to. I’m supposed to see the surgeon this week, but the office has yet to call me.

Last summer’s surgery really had an adverse effect on my writing. I guess I wasn’t quite ready to deal with my son being gone so long. I’m hoping to not fall into that again this year. It used to be, when I lived in California and his dad would take him to NC for a week each summer that I planted my butt on the couch, turned on my music and I’d write and write and write, for hours on end. Let’s see what I can do this year.

What else? My son is with his dad until August, the suckiest part of my summer. But at least he doesn’t have to sit around while I heal. And he’s going on a cruise. A few weeks out in Cali after that and-Poof!-he’ll be back home and we can embark on our own little getaway, I hope, before diving into prepping for middle school.

In other much overdue news, the comic book show was fun. I met some new friends, caught up with people I haven’t seen in decades, and even sold a few books. There’s already talk of next year, so stay tuned. Of course, I came home with print copies, some of which are riding around in my trunk. And I’m working on a print copy of Ghost Whispers. I think I’ve slipped off the rails or something like that. I really enjoy making print books. Of course, it’s easier to do print and then ebook, and so far I’ve done it backwards (except for the special edition of Chosen I made for the comic book show), but maybe that’ll change with future books. Not that I do anything beyond flowing my manuscript  onto the CS template, but choosing fonts, making things look pretty…yeah, that’s fun.

I’ve got several story ideas running around, some of which I managed to jot down, waiting for me to get to them, but my priority right now is Riptide’s sequel, which may be getting a new title, I’m not sure about the one I’ve been using as the working title, and something came to me today. I’m also working on finally finishing proofing GW so I can hit approve, I’m nearly halfway there. I had to put Mind Crime aside because another story idea tried to hijack Mind Crime. I’ve never had that happen before. The ideas usually come in, but when I write them down, they settle in to wait. The new spin for the characters in MC just wouldn’t let go. I have to revisit the idea so, for now, the jury’s still out on which direction to take that particular story in, but it’s in the queue. Along with some others. There are so many stories I’d like to tell. I need to get to work.

And now I have to get going. Batteries need charging, and the laptop wants to spend some quality time together.

 

 [mm1]

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in LIfe after Cancer, Story news, Writing life

Leave a Reply

