It doesn’t stop…

It’s been a busy few weeks. Doctor visits, imaging studies. Preparing for the Hamptons Comic Book Show (May 17).

I’m excited about the comic book show. I’ll be appearing with friends and fellow cancer survivors/Mahopac High School alums, Kate Fox, and Anthony Cardno. Since we’re all cancer survivors, we’ll be donating our proceeds. I finished my bookmarks and postcards, and stuff I bought (books, for example) are slowly trickling in. CreateSpace goofed while printing my books, inserting part of someone else’s book into the middle of one of the copies of Riptide, but the replacement is on its way. CS customer service was right on top of things, and getting this rectified was a piece of cake. I just hope that I was right and it only happened in one book. There are still a few little details to work out and such, but I think I’m ready. The doors open at 10 and I think it’s going to be a great day. Stop on by!

Here’s the FB page: https://www.facebook.com/hamptonscomicbookshow

I mentioned the doctors, right? Well, there’s been an ultrasound to check the uterine lining, my annual CT scan, an endoscopy to rule out something called Barrett’s, and a visit with my plastic surgeon. We’re moving into phase 2 of my reconstruction. That’s the phase where she’ll symmetricize (that’s not a real word, is it?) things, do some lipo to even things like my underarm areas out, get rid of the dog-ear flappy things on the ends of my abdominal scar and revise one of the flap scars. Hopefully she’ll be able to take care of the necrotic tissue while she’s at it. And, you know, if she happens to flatten my belly a little in the process, who am I to complain? I’ve heard the lipo can be very painful, but then again, stage 1 left me feeling like a Mack truck had run me over and then backed over me again. That’s what advil’s for, right? (I can’t take narcotic pain killers, they cause my blood pressure to bottom out). Oh yeah, I think she’s going to build me some nipples. Not that I’m sure I need them, they’ll be nonfunctional after all, but since I’ve come this far, I might as well go all in. Right now we have a tentative date of July 1. Unless I get bumped by a cancer patient who needs surgery, which would be completely understandable. 

The endoscopy results were good. As were the CT results. I’m supposed to have an abdominal US in a couple of weeks. I think the liver guy wants a hepatic profile. I’m thinking baseline. He says I’m a boring liver patient. And, according to him, boring is good. The uterine US? The endometrial lining is a little thicker than it was in Dec. so I had to have a biopsy. While the gynecologist was performing the procedure, she saw a polyp on my cervix, so that went off to pathology as well. They should have the results early next week. Let me tell you, I’ve had a lot of things sliced & diced and cut open and cut off in the past 3 1/2 years. Aside from the pain on the right side of my sternum last June, NOTHING was as painful as the sample collection, and I had one of those biopsies in 2012 when my CA gynecologist was establishing a baseline thickness before we moved. I still feel little fluttery cramps now, 4 days later. I don’t know if that’s normal or not, but I plan to ask when I call them Monday. 

It just seems like, now that I’ve started with doctors, there’s always something else popping up. Not that that’s a bad thing. I’m very glad they’re being so thorough with me and checking everything out. I appreciate the monitoring but, you know, sometimes you just want to come home from work, throw on some sweats, and kick back and relax. Still, before cancer, I went for my annual exams and made appointments when I was sick. Today i came home to a message regarding the abdominal US, but I didn’t remember that we’d discussed that so I was surprised. 

And that’s the latest. This weekend is Mother’s Day. I hope all the moms out there have a wonderful day full of their favorite things and special moments. Happy Mother’s Day!

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Hamptons Comic Book Show May 17, LIfe after Cancer

Leave a Reply

