My Pink Ribbons by Kate Fox

I can’t believe it’s already March. I mean Spring is what, 3 weeks away? So of course we’re expecting snow this weekend. Now, I’ve heard anywhere from 3″ to a foot. I, for one, am hoping for nada! Yep, it took about 50″ but I am tired of the snow. Sure, it’s still pretty. But at the moment, my front yard is so frozen that it’s a miracle I haven’t fallen and cracked my skull open. I am, after all, an extraordinary klutz. No, really. Anyone who knows me will back this up. 

Okay, enough of me complaining. It’s not going to deter the storm.

Image 

I received the prettiest book of poetry from my friend Kate Fox this week. Kate has known me since the old days, and we have always shared a passion for writing. She wrote poems, I wrote stories (I only dabbled in poetry). Well, last year, I discovered that Kate and I shared something more recently: breast cancer. (Yeah, not something I want my friends sharing, to be honest. Cancer sucks, we all know how I feel about this, and when it touches my friends, it just pisses me off…) Anyway. We also share a surgery date. Thankfully, Kate is doing well. She is also probably the most positive person I know!

During our cancer journeys, we both took to writing our thoughts down. Mine are mostly over at Live Journal (meesh920) and Kate’s poems are right here in My Pink Ribbons. I was privileged enough to be one of the people Kate asked to read her collection. I have to tell you, I found myself nodding, saying, “Yeah, I remember that” or “uh-huh” as I read each poem. My experience wasn’t the same as Kate’s, no two cancer journeys are, but she captured my experience perfectly in verse. In this book, Kate takes us through her journey from the beginning to her triumph, and I love this uplifting collection. 

If you (or anyone you know) is on your own cancer journey, I encourage you to pick up this book. You can find it here on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/My-Pink-Ribbons-Kate-Fox/dp/1495396657/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393712082&sr=8-1&keywords=my+pink+ribbons.

Want to connect with Kate? You can connect on Facebook at her book page: https://www.facebook.com/mypinkribbons

LIke I said, cancer sucks, but knowing you are not alone can ease the suckage.

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Books, Breast Cancer, Poems, Reading
One comment on “My Pink Ribbons by Kate Fox
  1. I understand how it’s great to have a friend who relates. I had two friends of mine have mastectomies at the same time as I did. The sad thing is we are all in our 30’s! Right now we are in slightly different stages to reconstruction.

Leave a Reply

