Where I’ve been

I just realized that January flew by and I never updated anyone on what’s going on with my writing. Honestly, this past month, writing had to be pushed to the back burner. Not because I didn’t want to write but because real life has a tendency to interfere with my writing life. And that’s exactly what happened. See, when a teacher moves to NY from a state with which NY has teacher credential reciprocity, all that really means is the teacher has to take more tests. So, when I signed up for the computer appointments for the three I had remaining, I could only get dates at the end of January/beginning of February. Having been out of school since 2008 and my memory not being what it once was, that meant I’ve spent the last month preparing. Yep, reviewing notes, taking practice tests, taking diagnostic tests and, oh yeah, reading my 11 year old’s history class handouts. Two of the three tests are done. There’s nothing more I can do about them. I had to make some guesses on the test I took yesterday, but the one Wed. didn’t have anything that blatantly stumped me. Now I just have to wait. And take the teacher skills test on the 7th. This one is going to require some review because all the different child development theories are jumbled in my head and there are some things specific to NY that I think I need to know. Fun stuff. But I’m almost done! Which means i can get back to writing. 

Speaking of writing, my goals for this year include getting the sequel to Riptide written. I’ve started it, but at the moment I’ve got two projects going on. I also plan to finish the first story in my Tabula Rasa series, but I haven’t decided if I’m going to publish that as soon as it’s done or if I want to hold off until the series is nearly complete to release it. I’m going to play that by ear, I think, at least that’s my thought right now. I’ve got some other things in the works, and when they’re closer to fruition, I will be able to say more. But we should be seeing more of Hope and the gang from the Chosen series. 

I also have a TON of books waiting to be read. When I look at the home page of my Nook, there are so many books in the TBR pile and another few that I’ve already started and put aside for one reason or another (usually something released by a favorite author that I cannot wait to get to) and I don’t even know how many archived and waiting for me to get to them. And then there’s the Kindle, which is good for another bunch of stories. Lots to read, and I am looking forward to every word. 

But for now, I have to go study. TTFN!

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Reading, Writing life

Leave a Reply

