Time is not a luxury a cancer patient can afford

While I was poking around my Facebook feed, I came across a news story about a woman who has had to postpone her breast cancer treatment due to her health insurance changing under Obamacare. Now, I don’t pretend to know the first thing about any of that since I’m on COBRA at the moment. What I do know is that postponing anything like a biopsy or surgery can make a difference between chemo & rads, or no follow-up treatment. No not because I’m some kind of expert, that’s not the case. Let me put it this way: I found my lump in May 2011. It was the size of a piece of pea gravel at the time. But it took until July 15, 2011 to get diagnosed. Once that happened, I still had to wait until the end of August for surgery. In the 3 ½ months that all took, my lump went from being the size of a pea to being 2.5 cm and had spread to 9 of my lymph nodes. That’s Stage IIIa. Not as easily taken care of as Stage 0 or 1. This was after a clean mammogram in February 2011. Yeah, at the moment I believe I am cancer free, but I live with the fear of whether it’s going to pop up somewhere else because it made it to my lymphatic system since it took forever to finally make it into an OR (and I had/have really, really good insurance!). They make a big deal about early detection and how it saves lives, and it does. From celebrities to personal friends of mine, people who caught it at those early stages are everywhere and they’re thriving. But when something like what happened to this woman happens… I have no real words, just outrage.

Here’s the article link so you can read for yourself.

http://www.foxnews.com/health/2014/01/19/cancer-patients-treatment-put-on-hold-over-obamacare/?fb_action_ids=10203164133762803&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B1376607209269316%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.likes%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%5D

I’ll say it again: Time is not a luxury a cancer patient can afford. 

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Breast Cancer
One comment on “Time is not a luxury a cancer patient can afford

Leave a Reply

