A Christmas Poem and My Wish for You

It’s been a long time since I felt well enough to sit at the computer and type something. Trust me, you do not want the bug I had. I thought it would never go away. But it did, and here I am, and Christmas is in 2 days (technically, it’s almost just a day away.) I am taking a break from playing catch up on my holiday preparations because I have something special I want to post.

Originally, I was going to revise a short story I wrote a long time ago, but that was in the days of 3-1/2 inch floppy disks (who else remembers those? I promise I won’t tell, lol). Well, on the upside, I’m pretty sure the story is on one of the disks lurking downstairs. Unfortunately, I don’t have access to any computers that could possibly read the disk, nor do I have an external A drive lying around (and that’s if the file didn’t somehow become corrupt over the last decade). So, sadly, no story (which I was very upset to discover. I had a plan, and then technology got involved… In general, technology and I are a lot like oil and water.)

Okay, no more pouting. If I pout, Santa won’t come, right? I wrote a Christmas poem many, many years ago (1996 maybe). The file? Well, I don’t know where that disk is either, or the hard drive it was originally saved to, but I have this little journal that’s the size of a memo pad. It contains copies of poems I wrote before, during, and after my “I’m-going-to-write-for-Blue-Mountain-Arts” phase. I don’t think this poem has ever made it out into public. I really hope you enjoy it.

The Guiding Star

A single star
High in the night sky
Guiding the way to a humble manger
Where the Holy Child lay.
On Christmas Eve they traveled,
Angels, shepherds, kings,
From both near and afar,
To view the Child as he lay,
Beneath the guiding star,
On a meager bed of hay.

And so today we celebrate
The birth of the Babe
Bestowed from Heaven above,
God’s great gift,
The embodiment of love.

© Michelle Moklebust, 1996

Now for my holiday wish for everyone. I hope you have a wonderful holiday with your loved ones. Remember, it’s not about who bought what, or how much said items cost, or whether they were on sale or not. Sometimes we all just get too busy, and we run around like lunatics, losing sight of what’s important. So, to you and yours, I hope this holiday season has afforded you the opportunity to enjoy one another. I hope those of you who live far from your loved ones connects with them, even if it’s just to say “I love you.” And if this season is difficult for you, I pray peace and comfort find you.

Merry Christmas!

And if you don’t celebrate, I hope you find the break in the hectic routine of our daily lives restful and recuperative.

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Holiday Fun, Poems

Leave a Reply

