Happy Birthday, B!

It has been too long since I updated this blog. Between attempting NaNo (not getting anywhere fast) and the new job, time just seems to be melting away! Before I know it, we’ll be making mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, and gluten-free, dairy-free cookies. 

Today is my son’s 11th birthday. That day eleven years ago was the most terrifying and wonderful day of my life. Now, I should have been scared about becoming a mommy, and I was, but that wasn’t the scariest part. The terrifying part was that he wasn’t breathing, he was gray, when he was born. Imagine dead silence after the baby finally enters the world. Yup, that was my delivery, after hours of being on oxygen because his heart rate kept dropping and the epidural running out and 12 hours in the labor & delivery room. Now, imagine the dead silence when you can’t really see anything because you took your glasses off and without them you can barely see four feet away.

I could see the doctor’s worried expression. I heard him tell me he had to cut the cord. And no baby crying. The nurse whisked his tiny, silent body away, and these people came in and waved something over his still form. I couldn’t see any details of what they were doing or what was happening. Finally, a nurse realized I was scared out of my mind and told me not to worry, he was pinking up. Finally.

 I know it was only a minute or so, maybe two, but it felt like an eternity before I heard my little boy cry. And when he did finally let out that big, lusty, healthy wail, it was the absolute best moment of my life.

Today, my boy is as tall as I am, and he and his friends are a bunch of goofballs who like to dance (badly) to the music they play in the bowling alley. He’s forever trying to put one over on me and my mother (playfully, he’s a great kid if I do say so myself). He’s got a copy of Riptide on his bookshelf, next to Rick Riordan’s books and he’s proud his mom wrote a book. He’s got an aptitude for numbers and a raw talent for drawing. He is the best thing that ever happened to me, despite that shaky first few minutes. I’m a lucky mommy. 

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Family life, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

