Riptide and Adventures in Print on Demand

riptide mockup 22 no lace

So this morning, I approved the proof for Riptide. It’s available in print right now at the CreateSpace eStore. I’ve included the link so it’s easier to find it.

https://www.createspace.com/4438881?ref=1147694&utm_id=6026

I guess this is kind of an experiment. I enrolled the digital version of Riptide in Kindle Directs’s match program, so if you buy the print copy through Amazon (which should be available within the week), you’ll get the eBook for free. Yep, free! I also opted in for CreateSpace’s expanded distribution. The additional, non-Amazon outlet availability should happen in 6 – 8 weeks.

Why am I considering this an experiment? Mostly because I’ve been on the eBook bandwagon since I released Ghost Whispers. After all, self-publishing an eBook, with the rise in eReader popularity and all things i_____(fill in the blank—phone, pad, pod) made sense to me. Lots of devices to download a book to. No up-front cost, which was and still is very attractive to me since I just got my teaching certification switched over and I’m job hunting. And I can’t forget the ability to send my book out into the world without having to wait (as in it takes a while to have a book traditionally published once an agent sells the title, never mind the whole agent query process).

Maybe I should explain. You see, I’ve always hesitated when it came to trying to find an agent. I had all kinds of intentions, but I chickened out. Then someone said to me, “Someday is today” and that got me moving. Until I got cancer. Pretty much everything came to a screeching halt: level two credential coursework in California, writing, thinking about publishing, planned family vacations. Gearing up to fight the beast occupied my thoughts and actions (never mind coming to terms with what was happening to me). Sure, my first surgery was a breeze, but then came chemo. And that is an experience in and of itself. When I finally finished chemo, I started thinking that maybe I should consider self-publishing. After all, my mother had been asking for years when I was going to publish something. And let’s face it, breast cancer changes your perspective. It makes you aware of the passage of time in a way you never were before (or maybe that’s just me, but every survivor I’ve spoken with has told me something similar happened to them). The knowledge that everything could be gone in what amounts to a blink of the eye prompted me to get my butt in gear and do the things I’d been putting off forever, {because, you know, I had time. Or so I thought}. Anyway, I jumped in to getting my first book out there, even if only my family and friends would be interested.

I haven’t yet been convinced to go all-in with Kindle Select, which requires 90-day exclusivity with Amazon, mostly because I actually know people who need .epub files for their Nooks & iPads. But when KDP introduced the Kindle Match program, it struck me that it might be worth the effort to make a print copy available. After all, there wouldn’t be too many up-front costs with CreateSpace (except for a proof copy for a physical book and expanded distribution). I’d already had Riptide edited (by the wonderful Todd Barselow. Seriously, he’s very professional, honest and good at what he does. A dream to work with, if you want my honest opinion). And the cover was made, so I’d already paid for the images (and some others for covers I already have concepts for). When I looked at that, what did I have to lose? It was win-win. So, long story short, Riptide is available in print.

Print opens up new avenues. I can actually have a GoodReads giveaway (once I figure out how to do that) and things like that. It’s going to be exciting, I think, and I’m looking forward to the ride.

So, writers, what made you choose print over eBook, or vice versa? And readers, which do you prefer, a bound book you can hold in your hands or a digital book?

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Publishing news, Self publishing, Story news, Writing life
2 comments on “Riptide and Adventures in Print on Demand
  1. It was a pleasure working with you, Michelle. I’m glad that you’ve shared your self publishing experience with us. I hope that you’ll keep us updated with how RIPTIDE is doing and how you find the self publishing experience as you continue forward.

Leave a Reply

