A short review of Muse: Descended from Myth: Book One by Erin McFadden

A little about me as a reader. I read to be entertained. To be whisked away and immersed in the lives of the characters. To relax. In short, if I could get paid to read, I would.

I usually read YA—paranormal, dystopian, urban fantasy. I also enjoy paranormal romance and I absolutely adore the Dark Hunters and the Morganville Vampires. My other reading choices include the Nina Wilde series and urban fantasy that isn’t YA. Although Styxx & Ash are two of my favorite characters, Cat and Bones are right up there at the top of my list of favorite couples as are Claire and Shane. So that should give you an inkling of my reading tastes.

Why am I telling you this?

I’ve never written a book review before. Let me put that out there right up front. But I’m going to share my thoughts on an amazing read tonight.

Let me start with: if you haven’t read Muse: Descended from Myth: Book One, the debut offering by indie author Erin McFadden, you should.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and I’m thrilled I was paying attention long enough to know when it was released. The writing is smooth and crisp. The main characters, Daniel and Anna, are well-rounded, and their relationship believable. I was rooting for them the whole time. The world Erin has created is exactly what I expect from an urban fantasy, meaning she keeps it realistic enough to enable me to suspend my disbelief and at the same time, make it possible for me to place myself in the setting (I’ve read other books where trying to keep the world in my head requires too much thought and distracts me from the plot, but that is definitely not the case here!)

My only complaint: I wanted to keep reading, but the story ended! I am eagerly awaiting the release of Erin’s Book Two in the Descended from Myth series, Talent.

Five stars!

Find Muse: Descended from Myth: Book One here in eBook & paperback:

<a href="http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=muse%20descended%20from%20myth&sprefix=muse+des%2Caps%2C171&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Amuse%20descended%20from%20myth

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Hobbies, Reading

Leave a Reply

