Writerly Plans

riptide mockup 22 no lace

Now that Riptide has been out for a week I wanted to take a moment to thank everyone who has bought the book so far. Tell your friends! And I also want to thank those who have read the samples that are available. Even if the book isn’t for you, if there’s someone you think may enjoy it, please tell them about my book. Word of mouth is probably the single most important method of advertising anything. As a new-ish self-published writer, I’m still finding my way, particularly the marketing side of self-publishing (so not my strong suit). Another thing that really helps self-published authors out tremendously is reviews from our readers. So if you’ve read Riptide, please post a rating, leave a review. PM me on FB to let me know your thoughts. I’d love to hear from you!

It’s late and I feel like I’m babbling, but I’m trying to get better about updating this blog on a regular basis, so bear with me while I ramble on about the next steps for my stories. These are very sketchy, not-at-all-firmed-up notions for future plans for the stories I’d like to write. So it’s very possible that things will change and I don’t have a timeline set up yet.

One thing I’d like to do is release Riptide in print, probably through CreateSpace, but I need to learn more first. Which leads to research. I’ll keep you posted on my adventures in POD.

Sequels. (That’s right, sequels with an s.)

First up is the next story in the Riptide series. It picks up immediately where Riptide left off, and I mean IMMEDIATELY, but I’m only about 1500 words in. I think Dani is mad at me for what I did to her & Max at the end of Riptide, so she’s grudgingly telling me what comes next. I don’t outline per se because any time in the past I’ve tried to utilize anything besides a general summary of what I want to write, my characters inevitably rebel. So now, I follow their road maps to get to my ending. At some point there will also be a story about Amphitrite, but aside from the first scene, I’m letting it marinate.

Also on deck is the sequel to Ghost Whispers, released as an ebook in July 2012. This story is tentatively titled Ghost Dance. I know it’s been a long time since GW was released. I wrote Ghost Whispers over 5 years ago, and it sat around in a file on my hard drive for almost 4 years before I opened it to edit and revise. I think in 2008, life just got in the way. And then, in 2012, right after chemo, I realized that if I ever planned to publish anything, I had to jump in with both feet instead of waiting for someday. What I know about Ghost Dance so far is that Phillip and Chance will both return, as will Alexis and Milena. In this story, Phillip is still MIA and Alexis throws herself into ghost hunting (she thought she was going to sit around and mope, but she likes to be busy when she’s upset.) So this one is shaping up to be more ghosts and haunting stuff as opposed to vamps, but at the heart is Phillip & Alexis’ love, so there will be vampires. I believe there will be an HEA. But I can’t promise. Gavin was originally cut from the initial “outline” but he’s a strong-willed guy, and so he didn’t sit quietly by while I ignored him. Anyway, as of right now, I’m planning for there to be a poltergeist, but who knows what else will pop up.

The Chosen series has not been forgotten. The third story in the series was submitted for a charity anthology, and I’m waiting to hear back on the edits I sent out a few weeks back. In the meantime, the next storyline is shaping up in the back of my mind. I’m also not sure if this series will remain strictly YA or if some of the stories might be NA. Peter and Davis have been bugging me. There’re some things they want me to show the world.

What else is in the works?

Well, I’m struggling with the story I want to write for my son (his 10-year-old thoughts on romance: ewww, lol). I think it’s because I can’t devote much time to it right now or maybe it’s just not done percolating. Hopefully I’ll do better with this story than with the afghan I started crocheting for him when he was about 3 (he’ll be 11 in Nov.). It’s a bunch of squares in one of those vinyl sheet set pouches. I’d like for him to read this story before he goes off to college.

I’ve got a few stories here, one about a genetically engineered human-vampire hybrid vampire hunter. It’s a YA paranormal romance. I’ve got a finished werewolf story that is in desperate need of a new title, never mind some revisions. And then there’s the pair of stories that I need to finish. I’m not sure if they’re shorts, novels, or novellas. Or whether they’re NA or YA (the more I read about NA, the more open I become to the possibility that some of my stories might fit there better.) And that’s just the top of the list. So I better get to it. TTFN.

I write paranormal stories, usually YA with a dash of romance added in. I have been a bank teller, a school photographer, a news photographer, and a special education teacher.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Self publishing, Story news, Writing life

Leave a Reply

